Fashion Feature- Andrea Iyamah

Screenshot 2017-03-24 at 16.38.06

This is my absolute Favourite Nigerian designer she oozes couture okay so a little designer profile.

Dumebi Iyamah

24 year old Canadian based Nigerian designer 

Started designing at 17 

Known for her amazing swimwear with its incredibly vibrant colours inspired by African cultures.

RTW

I believe her work speaks for itself from her swimwear to ready to wear to her bridal it is all very impressive great structured pieces, with neat lines and modern cuts she ticks all the boxes and then some the only thing I was unsure about was the way the fabric sometimes came across in pictures but I was told she uses quality material and for the prices her ready to wear collections go for I am not surprised. 

Screenshot 2017-03-24 at 14.41.32

My feature is on her most recent ready to wear and swimwear collections. With designers your always unsure as to whether they will be able to top their previous collections but she is one designer I have complete and utter faith that she will be ever consistent. Also I love how much Black Girl Magic I see in her campaigns!

you look at her jumpsuits and see so much talent in the modern creativity that is thrown at you. I love this collections because it takes things i usually hate and makes them so fashion forward. I usually hate ruffles, pleats and asymmetric styles  but she brings so many new dimensions to these trends.

Screenshot 2017-03-24 at 14.41.59

Creativity at its BEST!

Screenshot 2017-03-24 at 14.44.04

Gotta love a flared trouser!

Screenshot 2017-03-24 at 14.43.48

I personally would separate these pieces but still

Screenshot 2017-03-24 at 14.40.55

everyone loves a little sheer magic

She represents modern Africa and how style has progressed with modern fashion influenced world fashion she is the kind of designer I believe is going to have Times Square campaigns showcasing more black girl magic.

Slideshow of her pieces from her website with prices.

https://www.andreaiyamah.com/

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

SWIMWEAR

Screenshot 2017-03-24 at 18.38.13

Like I said her work speaks for itself she creates these amazing pieces that defy expectation they are 100 percent original I never once think she lacks creativity, her swimwear is what shes known for and understandably so they are always different colour wise, style wise everything wise she is the kind of designer that makes you want every piece in her collections. At this point it seems she can do no wrong.

So much black girl magic I can’t even take it!

BRIDAL

This is untouched waters for her and something I believe she is exploring something I think will be very fruitful for her and her brand it is something that those who so far have chosen AI have seemed completely satisfied with and isn’t that the point of the whole thing making the customer happy and I tell you I feel I’m going to be a happy customer very soon.

xxx Rhem

Leave a Reply

